Interview: 10 Fragen an Kayla Moleschi

Wir ihr wisst, haben wir eine Miniserie von Interviews auf unserer Homepage mit Menschen, die ihr Leben, ihre Karriere oder zumindest eine ganze Menge Freizeit dem wunderbaren, einzigartigen Rugbysport widmen. Heute stellen wir euch Kayla Moleschi, eine kanadische Rugby-Nationalspielerin, vor.

kalya moleschi

Kayla Moleschi is one of the Canadian rugby 7s national team players. The 22-year-old first started playing rugby in grade nine and coaches in British Colombia were tipping her to be one of the nation’s top rugby prospects ever since she played for the BC U17 provincial team.

Moleschi’s first performance at the senior women’s level saw her score two tries to help Canada down Brazil 31-0 in Dubai. Moleschi went on to start in every game at the 2011 IRB Challenge Cup, including the championship final where Canada downed England 26-7.

Moleschi was named Canada West Rookie of the Year 2011 and a Canada West all-star recently.

1. What made you start playing rugby?

I started playing rugby when I was in grade 9. I thought about joining in grade 8 but was a little nervous and I was also big into baseball and hockey. Like most athletes though I wanted to do every sport in high school. I knew I wanted to join rugby as I love competitive sports and wanted to challenge myself. As soon as I played my first game I knew it would be a life-long game for me.

2. What fascinates you most about rugby, especially 7s in contrast to 15s?

What fascinates me about rugby is that no matter what your individual skill level may be you always need your team mates to succeed. You need to be confident in your skills and abilities on and off the field. It is hard to compare 7s and 15s as I love them both so much!

3. In your eyes, what characterizes a good rugby player?

In my opinion a good rugby player has many different components. Determination, hard work, heart, confidence, the ability to work well with others as well as being open to learning new things. I also believe a good rugby player is one who is willing to put in the long strenuous hours at practice, study the game and dedicate extra time to work on skills. Rugby players are also physically and mentally tough. Recovery, nutrition and balancing your life makes all the difference in how you perform.

4. What do you think players can take out of rugby for their everyday life?

I think players can take a lot from rugby and translate it into their everyday lives, I know I do. Rugby doesn’t just teach you to be a team player or to have that competitive edge. It teaches you how to be professional and respectable to yourself and those around you.

5. Are you often confronted with prejudices about women’s rugby and how do  you handle them?

I have experienced prejudice around women’s rugby but I myself do not get too worked up about it. I play this sport because I love the game. I love representing my country, my hometown and all those who have supported me. Women’s rugby is becoming bigger and bigger with each passing year. I strongly recommend everyone to keep an eye out for women’s rugby as it is a growing sport throughout the world. The 7s version is gaining momentum because it has been inducted into the 2016 Olympics In Rio, Brazil and 15s is still an important function!

6. What was the greatest moment in your career so far?

I received my first 7s cap in Dubai of 2011 for the Senior Women’s Sevens Team. I would have to say that this tournament was the most memorable moment in my rugby career so far as we were the IRB Women’s Sevens Challenge Cup winners. My Greatest rugby achievement was making the Senior Sevens Team and being a centralized player for Canada. I am lucky to be trained by the top coaches and support staff around. I’ve always wanted to compete in rugby with the best and against the best in the world. I strive to push for more everyday even when I have nothing left and being a part of this team helps me to do so, as I have an entire team with me doing the exact same thing. I’ve learnt so much about myself through these experiences and I look forward to making more great rugby achievements and memories.

7. What are your goals for the future? 

My Long term rugby aspirations are to be a part of the Senior Sevens Canada Women’s World Cup Team in June 2013 and the 2016 Olympics team in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. I’d also love to be a part of the 15 aside Senior Women’s Nations Cup Team this fall, hopefully making it my first cap for 15s, and also to be a part of the 15 aside World Cup Team in 2014. Between all of these dates though it will take a lot of hard work and determination. I look forward to my rugby career that lies ahead.

8. Which player or coach has been a role model for you and why?

The most influential people on my rugby career would be my high school coaches Mauro Calabrese and Todd Pritchard. Yes my family is most influential in my life and have always supported me in my rugby endeavors but without these two coaches I wouldn’t be where I am now in my rugby career . They taught me all that I know about the game and it was never to win every game, but to improve with every game and be an all-around player and leader for my team mates. If a win came out of those then it was even better. I cherish all they have taught me and now I get to take what I learned from them and add it to all the new things I am learning with another amazing coach, John Tait, Senior Women’s Sevens Head Coach. He has made my game so much more dynamic. Thank you to them, Mauro and Todd, for being such talented, diverse rugby inspirations, coaches and truly important people in my life.

9. What helped you most to get to where you are now? What’s your biggest strength?

Hard work and determination has helped me to get to where I am now. I never gave up on my dream of playing for Canada. My family, friends and all the coaches I have in my life are a huge part of all my successes. Without them it would have been a lot harder to get to where I am. I think my biggest strength is my speed and power. I may be small but I am feisty and use my height to my advantage especially with low powerful tackles.

10. Do you have any tips for our players?

The biggest tip I can give is to always keep challenging yourself. Never be afraid of mistakes, failure or any type of set back as it will only make you an all-around stronger player. Most importantly have fun, we play this sport because we love the game.

(HR)

Kommentar verfassen

